Roast chicken with fennel and orange


#AceFoodNews – Italy on my Mind Another Way to Cook Chicken #ChefsTip

italy on my mind

Spring has well and truly arrived in Melbourne. Farmers markets have a bounty of broad beans, golden beets, asparagus and baby artichokes, and tomato seedlings are ready for planting, hinting that summer is not too far away.

IMG_8884-0.JPG

Spring also means farewell to winter greats – oranges and fennel – which have brightened many colder winter days, and go so well together. I am sad to say farewell to oranges in particular (though I know we can buy imported ones all year round). I just love pairing these two ingredients together – fennel and orange salad has been a staple through winter, though I seldom cook fennel. A couple of weeks ago I paired them in a roast chicken dish. I love cooking whole chickens – they feel like a celebration of spring. I was inspired by Alastair Little’s “Pollo alla Orvietana” – which has 40 cloves of garlic and 40…

View original post 118 more words

