How to make Mediterranean Carob Syrup


#AceRecipeNews – #chefs-tips

Good Food Everyday

20140613-233326.jpg

I get excited when I stumble on old recipes and look forward to trying them out in my kitchen. Today I am making am making Carob Syrup. Although you can buy it ready made, nothing beats the flavor of home made. I very often detect a burtn tast in the ready made jars….

Carob is gluten free, nut free, dairy free and caffeine free and the tree is native to the Mediterranean region. It is a great source of vitamins and is rich in protein, iron and calcium.

20140613-233607.jpg

For the syrup, you will need:

2 kilos carob
2 kilos water ( I like weighing my water but if using a measuring jug it’s 2 liters)
4 kilos sugar
1 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon vanilla or less according to your preference
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Rinse the pods several times in water.

Roast them but do not overdo it, I…

View original post 110 more words

