Girl’s decision to drop chemotherapy in favour of Aboriginal medicine prompts children’s aid intervention


#AHN2014

National Post | News

A Brantford, Ont. family’s decision to let their 11-year-old treat her cancer with Indigenous medicine rather than chemotherapy has prompted the intervention of Ontario children’s aid authorities.

“This chemo that I am on is killing my body and I cannot take it anymore,” said the girl, who cannot be named due to the involvement of provincial authorities, in a Tuesday video produced by Two Row Times, a free weekly distributed to Ontario First Nations reservations.

“I have asked my mom and dad to take me off the treatment, because I don’t want to go this way any more.“

Instead, the girl’s only treatment for the disease will be a regimen of Six Nations traditional medicines and treatments known as Ongwehowe Onongwatri:yo:.

McMaster Children’s Hospital, where the girl received chemotherapy, “didn’t seem to have protocol in place for indigenous children whose families choose traditional medicine instead of pharmaceuticals,” said Nahnda…

View original post 926 more words

