WINOL Week 7 – Fluoride


I tackled a story that I tried to take on last semester, but this semester I found a great news angle: Public Health England chose to ignore a health journal that classed fluoride as a neurotoxin.

The news editor was reluctant to let this story go forward, but after discussing it he gave me a great idea on how to produce it in a way that would be rich picture-wise: by having pictures of kids and teeth rather than just flowing water, as children’s dental care is the main reason for fluoridation.

I went ahead and was able to get images of children brushing their teeth, and I was able to get an interview with the chairman of Hampshire Against Fluoridation, where he gave me strong quotes. Where it was unsuccessful, though, was where Public Health England didn’t want to cooperate and only gave me a somewhat empty statement.

I…

View original post 107 more words

