Simshar and Rebecca’s Preserved Tomatillos …


#AFHN2104

Good Food Everyday

20140505-223707.jpg

On the island this week we see the release of the first full-length feature film for an international audience, a story based on a recent tragedy within the fishing community. A second storyline highlights the ongoing immigration challenges that face an island already so densely populated.

It shows everyday life here. The Mediterranean sea on film leaves me in awe, totally mesmerized even though I see it from my window as soon as I awake each morning. These two pictures are screenshots from the film.

20140505-223537.jpg
And as most of you today will be celebrating Cinco de Mayo, it occurs to me as I write this how many similarities exist between the life we breathe daily on this island and my experiences in Mexico…. the heat, the fiestas, village celebrations and strong family ties, the religion and of course the parallels in history, the French invasions and commemorating freedom from conquerers…

View original post 127 more words

