Chocolate Beetroot Cupcakes with Beetroot Frosting


#AFN2014 says #GFE

Good Food Everyday

20140309-060514.jpg

We had a marathon baking session at the hotel yesterday and I had the pleasure of working with two of my favorite boys Ayrton and Luke who are final year students at the prestigious hotel school on the island. My assignment was to introduce some of the US Ambassador’s all time favorites to the local market and these cupcakes were served in the beautiful Art Deco lounge for afternoon tea.

I first tasted this cake when I visited HE the US Ambassador’s home last November and she shared her favorite recipe collection with me. This cake is so unusual, tastes divine and is striking in appearance. The beetroot does something incredible to the chocolate, it brings out depth of flavor and you nearly feel you are eating something healthy but it doest not have the earthy tastes of health-food. I quite cannot describe but it certainly is WOW.

I am…

View original post 429 more words

