Black History Month in today’s paper and beans and rice for supper …


#AFN2014 says `Combining Black History with Food’ really nice post #mustread on behalf of #goodfoodeveryday

Good Food Everyday

I featured Black History Month in the newspaper today as it is being commemorated by the US Embassy with a varied program including some exhibitions and a concert by gospel singer Joyce Yuille who is making a special visit to the island.
20140220-131120.jpg

I was so pleased to receive a detailed history about the origins of African American food from Jueseppi Baker and it brought back good memories of the wonderful teatime treats I was offered during my visit to the residence of the US Ambassador HE Gina Abercrombie-Winstanley just before Thanksgiving.

I am very familiar with eating African American cuisine especially while I was living in South London but I have not seriously attempted to cook it so far. This is going to change though and I am scheduled to make Mrs Flo’s Sweet Potato Pie and other delicious specialities from HE the US Ambassador’s childhood that I featured in…

View original post 242 more words

